The good old days?

Have someone ever told you that everything was better when mass media such as Internet didn’t exist? That when they were young they had to go outside to meet people and that they never were as lazy as we are? I don’t even know how many times my mother has tried to make me spend less time in front of the computer screen and more time outside playing with my friends. But was thing really that much better before mass medias time?

When my parents were young, in the 1970´s, the Internet did not yet exist and it was only a few families who had a television. There was no such thing as Netflix or foxtel, and it would still be a decade before the VHS players was available on the market. When I grew up we had one television and a stationary computer in our household. Even back then, my parents were telling me to stop spending so much time in front of the screen and go outside and play with my friends.

go play

Today it is normal for kids to have Ipads, Iphones and Macbooks (thank you apple). It is safe to say that the technology has change but this doesn’t necessarily have to be a bad thing. Of course it is important for kids and teenagers to go outside and play with their friends as I used to, but it isn’t the computer or the television that makes us lazy. It is perfectly fine to use the Internet or watch TV as long as it is not taking over your life.

Imagine how much easier it is to get in touch with people just by sending them a message on Facebook. Or how much you can learn from watching television. In Norway we learn English in school, but what have actually thought me how to speak English is not my teachers. I have learned it by watching American and English movies and Television shows. I have met some of my best friends through social media and I have been able to keep track on what is happening on the other side of the world every minute through the Internet.

The good old days? Let´s call it the good new days!

Leave a Reply

